Valor website now includes service crosses


Valor website now includes service crosses

by: Media release | .
American Forces Press Service | .
published: August 02, 2012

WASHINGTON, Aug. 1, 2012 – A website launched last week that lists recipients of the military’s highest awards for valor for actions since the Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attacks has been updated with service cross recipients, Defense Department officials announced today.

The site -- at -- is designed to raise awareness of service members’ heroism and to help deter those who falsely claim military honors, officials said.

The site launched with the names of Medal of Honor recipients for actions since 9/11, and now lists recipients of the Distinguished Service Cross, Air Force Cross and Navy Cross. The services are continuing to compile the lists of Silver Star recipients to add to the site, officials said.

Tags: News
Related Content: No related content is available